Books, my love

Wacky posts are best on Sundays, I guess.  Book memes, however, are tons of fun

A book that changed my life:  Going for something profound?  The RepublicThe Art of Happiness?… oh!  of course!  Critique of Pure Tolerance.  Changed the way I view the world (provoked a minor emotional breakdown in the process), but I’m the healthier for it.

A book I’ve read more than once:  Patriot Games by Tom Clancy.  I could have taken the easy way out, but I’m not going to lie, I love the Jack Ryan series.  I’m generally reading at least one of them.

A book I would take with me if I were stuck on a desert island:  if I can take a collection, the Complete Works of Shakespeare.  There is something in there for all moods, and I figure I’d want something insightful into the nature of humanity.

A book that made me laugh: The Man Who Loved Only Numbers – my poor roommates had to put up with me laughing at math jokes all through a biography of Paul Erdos.  I keep telling others to read it.

A book that I wish had been written:  My own.  Or, if someone else feels up to it, an excellent copy introductory textbook to American Political Science (advanced level).  Something that can serve, as in biology, to really introduce the field.

A book that I wish had never been written:  I’m a fan of JS Mill, you have to be kidding.

A book I’ve been meaning to read:  Endless Forms Most Beautiful by Sean Carroll.to me right now… taunting me.  It is actually sitting next I’m also thinking of the Diskworld series, but not sure if I want to take all that time.

I’m currently reading: The Cardinal of the Kremlin by Tom Clancy.  Four Essays on Liberty by Isiah Berlin.  A Solution to the Ecological Inference Problem by Gary King.  And I just finished Rousseau’s Dog by Edmonds and Eidinow.  And people think this blog is chaotic…

Leave a Reply

